Gluten Free Hanukkah Recipes

Recipes Ideas for a Gluten Free Hanukkah

Gluten Free Hanukkah Recipes

Hosting any holiday party can be overwhelming, especially when you add in food allergies. This year, Hanukkah falls at the same time as Christmas, so we wanted to be sure we covered ideas for recipe substitutions for that feast as well. Hanukkah is celebrated each year beginning on Kislev 25. This date normally occurs during the month of December on the Gregorian calendar. This year, Hanukkah is December 24th to January 1st.

If you’re preparing a meal for Hanukkah, and have someone that is gluten free on your list here are a few suggestions to help out. These recipes can easily be adapted for those who have concerns about gluten in their diet.

Potato latkes are a staple when celebrating Hanukkah. Normally, they would be made with matzo meal or flour. You can substitute potato starch or gluten-free flour (such as rice flour) if you need to adjust the recipe. There should be no difference in the taste or texture if you make this substitution.

Can you have latkes without applesauce? Well, you can, but who would want to? Applesauce from the store would suffice, but to add even more wonderful flavor to your hot, fresh latkes, try making homemade applesauce instead. Yes, it will take a little bit of time and effort, but the results will be well worth the time. Your family will love spooning the warm applesauce over their piping hot latkes. Of course, applesauce is already gluten-free so this addition will not be a concern.

Sufganiyot (jelly doughnuts) are also a traditional Hanukkah food almost as popular as latkes. When making sufganiyot without gluten, it is important to use a mixture of gluten-free flours. This mixture will be perfect for the recipe:

  • 3 cups of White Rice flour
  • 3 cups of Brown Rice flour
  • 2 cups of Potato Starch (be sure NOT to use potato flour)
  • 1 cup of Tapioca Starch

Combine and use the recommended amount for the recipe you choose. You’ll also want to include either xanthan gum or guar gum in the recipe if using non-gluten flour. Look for gluten-free flours that are already pre-mixed if you do not want to mix your own recipe and if cost is a consideration.

Even if you’re not handy in the kitchen, that doesn’t mean you have to give up Hanukkah and your favorite treats. Look through the gluten-free section of your grocery store. They may not have traditional Hanukkah foods (no manufacturer makes latkes and sells them), but that doesn’t mean you can’t make substitutions.

The foods of Hanukkah are symbolic of the struggle for freedom and returning the Temple in Jerusalem back to its proper use of worshipping God. While you will want to fry at least some foods during this eight day celebration, there’s no reason you can’t celebrate in a way that honors the idea behind the holiday and yet maintain your dietary requirements.

Look for gluten-free Hanukkah foods online if you don’t have the time or inclination to make them yourself. However, if you want to tackle making traditional Hanukkah foods, there are ways you can do that. It may take a little bit of time to search for just the right recipe, but you will be glad that you can still celebrate and enjoy gluten-free Hanukkah recipes for years to come.

The following two tabs change content below.

Harriet

Harriet is a recipe consultant and contributor to Week99er.com

Latest posts by Harriet (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.